Day 313 – #136. GAYNGS – Relayted

GAYNGS - Relayted Album Review

I often get asked what my favorite album of all time is. Earlier this month, I wrote that The Blood Brothers’ …Burn, Piano Island, Burn! had ascended to the throne.

I lied. Whoops.

My favorite album is GAYNGS’ Relayted. That’s it.

It took a while for me to come around to the fact because it’s not a statement to be made lightly. I believe that a human being’s favorite album says a lot about them as a person.

What time period it was released, what makes someone claim it as their ultimate desert island record, whether or not they can listen to it in any mood… all factor into the decision. One doesn’t just pick an album they call their favorite of all time. They choose it.

And though it’s only been out since May 10th, 2010, I’m confident in my selection. I’m also sure that, as it was when Wu-Tang Clan’s 36 Chambers  came up earlier this year (Happy 20th anniversary, baby – today, no less!), nothing I can write about this album will in any way enhance your enjoyment of it.

So please: Enjoy the seediest, smokiest, sexiest record of the last quarter century – and my personal favorite of all time.

One comment

  1. Pingback: Day 316 – #62. Brand New – The Devil And God Are Raging Inside Me « One Record Per Day


Leave a Reply

