Day 296 – #224. Maylene And The Sons Of Disaster – Maylene And The Sons Of Disaster

Maylene and the Sons of Disaster - Maylene and the Sons of Disaster Album Review

Here’s what you need to know about Maylene And The Sons Of Disaster’s self-titled 2005 debut album:

I could be totally wrong about the timing of this, but it was either 2007 or 2008. I drove up to my hometown of Jacksonville to see my friends in Showbread played a show at Murray Hill Theatre. I had seen them the night before as well, in Orlando. If my memory serves, this was October of 2007, and my friend Kait and I watched the first Paranormal Activity movie (when it was still on its limited release, and also before the series was ruined) with the group. It was terrifying being in such a giant room with so many people who were also dedicated to silence.

After the show at Murray Hill, we drove a few blocks down the road to indulge in a southern favorite, and one of my distinct guilty pleasures in life: Krystal Burger.

Listen though. If you try to make the comparison to White Castle, we will fight. There isn’t one. Krystal will have my heart 4e.

Disgusting Krystal fact: Joey Chestnut once ate 108 delicious tiny burgers in 8 minutes. Nothing is scared.

Anyway, I was going through a weird southern phase where I embraced a camo hat for some reason (questionable decision making processes be damned), ripped jeans and some sort of ragged shoes. It was a strange time, don’t worry about it.

As we were eating Krystals in the restaurant/fine eatery establishment’s parking lot, the band set in on a favorite pastime: setting themselves on fire in a game called “Don’t Get Burned.” Actually, it was more like set your clothes on fire and rip them off before they got to your skin.

In addition to the delicious miniature burgers that Krystal has so graciously allowed us to eat, the chain sells tiny corndogs, which are ostensibly the best kind of corndog. I had one a couple of those too.

Mike from Showbread remarked that I was the perfect person to be eating a corndog: camo hat, jeans that ripped nearly into the crotchal region, a torn shirt, and I think I was wearing flip flops.

Those were the good ole’ days.

The point of this story is that I don’t really know if there was one, but I listened to Maylene quite a bit on the three hour trip there and back.

From Maylene And The Sons Of Disaster, this is “Caution, Dangerous Curves Ahead” —

Standout tracks: “Gusty Like the Wind” and “Tough as John Jacobs”
Weakest track: “Just Wanted to Make Mother Proud”

YOU RAN: I’M STILL SWINGIN’

RIYL/Moral of the story: if you like NASCAR ‘98 on Playstation 1, corn dogs or jeans held together by thread, Maylene’s debut is stellar.

Link: https://itunes.apple.com/us/album/maylene-the-sons-of-disaster/id279653524

Leave a Reply

