Day 289 – #49. Blackbird Blackbird – Summer Heart

Blackbird Blackbird - Summer Heart Album Review

There’s been a lot going on in my personal life the last few weeks. Because reasons. Ones that I’m not comfortable with sharing. So, One Record Per Day has hit a weird spot rounding the home stretch. You may have noticed. You may not have.

With under 100 days left in the project, I’ve been spending the last month or so as an intern for NPR’s All Songs Considered at the public radio Taj Mahal here in Washington, DC. I turned 26 this year, and it’s been the strangest of my life thus far. I’ve done two killer internships, one with my favorite professional sports franchise (the Tampa Bay Lightning), finally graduated college, and spent the summer piecemealing rent money from freelance work.

When I got to DC, I realized that I never want to move back to Florida, under any circumstances.

Which is to say, I realize I’ve peaked and that it’s all downhill from here (well, maybe).

Which is to say, now that I’ve heard William Basinski’s The Disintegration Loops, I feel pretty inferior.

Which is to say, I woke up Sunday from a panic attack about what the next step is, and how dire it is that I be employed when this experience wraps up on December 21st.

Which is to say, every day that I’ve been here has been unique in ways I couldn’t have anticipated.

Which is to say, I had a conversation with Guy Raz today which was capped off by his message of “Own it.”

Which is to say, I don’t want to let my opinion of GTAV and the Wu-Tang Clan be ruined by you.

Which is to say, that writing something every day since the beginning of the year will burn you out eventually, and that it takes more and more each day to muster up the mettle to bear through and drum up words, especially for albums that are boring or that I’m in no mood to partake of, or that my word count this month is the lowest it’s been yet because I’m sort of tapped.

On the bright side, I have some of my all-time favorite records still waiting for these last 75 days.

This project has taught me patience and the value of a day off.

One comment

  1. Pingback: Day 299 – #337. Twin Shadow – Forget « One Record Per Day


Leave a Reply

