Day 254 – #68. Broken Social Scene – Feel Good Lost

Broken Social Scene - Feel Good Lost Album Review

I just found out something about Broken Social Scene’s Feel Good Lost that pretty well changes my perspective on the band and this release: it’s their debut album. Literally the first thing these fair Canadians ever released is among the best of the post-rock minded, experimental ambient albums.

Before the band became a miniature version of Polyphonic Spree (12 versus… I don’t know, I guess Polyphonic just lets people off the street into the band. I am in the Polyphonic Spree. You are in the Polyphonic Spree), founders Kevin Drew and Brendan Canning, who also split off to form KC Accidental, drafted Leslie Feist for some scant vocals to accompany otherwise aerated post-rock. Feel Good Lost is at times breathy and smooth (opener “I Slept With Bonhomme at the CBC” and the tremendous “Passport Radio”) when it isn’t trying its hand at lo-fi synthwave (“Mossbraker”) or sleepy, groovy experiments (“Love and Mathematics,” “Blues for Uncle Gibb”).

And yanno, while I’m writing this, I realize just how loaded this record really is. It’s just shy of an hour, containing one of the most underrated short BSS tracks (the licky “Prison Province” – that bass, tho~), and the mammoth, 8+ minute “Last Place.” “Cranley’s Gonna Make It” to close doesn’t hurt, either.

In 2002, just a year after this record, the band added a slew of members and released You Forgot It In People, which is sadly not on this year’s list. I know, I goofed. That said, you should check it out, because “Cause=Time” is on it, and a host of other jams. Why I didn’t include it, I can’t remember, as it’s been almost 10 months since I assembled the list. But please accept as penance this photo of my dog hoarding all of his toys:

Bowsef Jones the 1st hoarding toys

He is 900 miles away from me and I miss him a lot.

Feel Good Lost is a yes for me, and is moving on to the next round. It may return to its living quarters.

From Broken Social Scene’s 2001 debut, this is “Passport Radio” –

Standout tracks: “I Slept With Bonhomme at the CBC,” “Love and Mathematics,” “Alive in 85” and “Prison Province” (why does that song have to be so short, UGH)
Weakest track: Nah.

RIYL: Ambient, shoegaze, experimental electronic, post-rock. It’s all over the place in the best way possible. Air, Boards of Canada, Caspian, Stars, Metric, KC Accidental, Feist, maple leafs (both in Toronto and abroad).

Link: https://itunes.apple.com/us/album/feel-good-lost/id594344063

Leave a Reply

