Day 248 – #168. The Hives – Tyrannosaurus Hives

The Hives - Tyrannosaurus Hives Album Review

Perhaps I was a bit… shall we say, harsh on The Hives when I last wrote about them. Also, I meant to call them the Swedish poor man’s Refused.

But the sentiment of feeling like they’ve been writing the same album for the same 20 years stands. At what point is the jig up?

In the same vein, I seem to have hit a wall with this project. Don’t get me wrong, I’m still going to finish out, because never miss a shift and such.

But this is the kind of album where I just sit here, 248 days into this thing, and wonder how much is left in the tank.

I’m finding that albums by bands I’m wild about are far easier to write about than a group that, over the years, has become only a passive interest. Like The Hives. If you had caught me not long after the release of Veni Vidi Vicious, it’s possible I would have told you that they were the best band on the planet, like a second coming of Refused. Which, as you and I both know, reader… is not true. The second coming of Refused was Refused – last year, and they came and went, and that was that. It was so necessary for them to tie up the loose ends, and seeing them in Atlanta was a teenage dream come true. But that’s a digression for November, when The Shape of Punk to Come shows up on this year’s list.

I had a blast yesterday with the final HORSE the Band appearance of the project and two Blood Brothers albums back to back to start the month. And, ya know, in my defense, it was impossible to foresee this kind of writing fatigue coming 250 days into the project.

It’s not Tyrannosaurus Hives’ fault either, I don’t think, because it’s a capable release. Best known for its single “Walk Idiot Walk,” which has been played to its ashen death. A song which I can’t even stomach anymore because of its commercial acceptance on any EA game from the last, I dunno, 8 years.

It might just be that, as of the end of August, I’ve written 140,000+ words for this project. At times, I feel like I’m out of words entirely, even for bands that I like. This happens to be one of those “Push through it” days. Sorry, Pelle Almqvist. I still think you’re a dynamic frontman.

For what it’s worth, this album has the best cover art of any of their records. Praise.

From Tyrannosaurus Hives, this is “Two-Timing Touch and Broken Bones” –

Standout tracks: “Abra Cadaver,” “Diabolical Scheme” and “Antidote”
Weakest track: “A Little More for Little You” or “Dead Quote Olympics”

RIYL: Garage rock, garage punk. Jet, Kaiser Chiefs, The Vines.

Link: https://itunes.apple.com/us/album/tyrannosaurus-hives/id18034915

One comment

  1. Pingback: Day 298 – #165. The Hives – Barely Legal « One Record Per Day


Leave a Reply

