Day 233 – #205. Lana Del Rey – Born To Die

Lana Del Rey - Born to Die Album Review

There exists a thing called “People With Lana Del Rey Lips” and it is a shining beacon of goodness, the very crux of the Interweb.

This is all you need to know about Lana Del Rey:

From Born to Die, this is the title track, which somehow has 117 million views –

Standout tracks: Outside of this album’s million and a half singles, “Off to the Races” and “Dark Paradise”
Weakest track: Yanno, for being as big of a record as this is, most of these aren’t clunky enough to call them weak. I kind of expected at least one song to be just filler, but I’m having a hard time drawing one up. Sure, if you’re not into pop music, it won’t be your thing, but even as someone who can’t stomach TMZ, there’s a lot to enjoy here. I want you to know that I typed that with shame in my bones.

Why I own this album: It’s… not that bad, to be honest. I’m not the biggest fan of pop radio in general (because why would I be, really), but if more of it were like this, maybe I wouldn’t resent the top 40.
Why I chose to keep it on this year’s list: Probably just so I could pick the low hanging fruit. It seemed like a good idea at the time.

Say what you will: about the questionable plasticity of her lips and nose, about her manufactured fame, about her Saturday Night Live flop, about whether or not she was really behind those early videos – none of it matters. Born to Die is a damn fine pop album.

RIYL: Lisa Loeb filming “Stay (I Missed You)” in one take in her NYC apartment.

Link: https://itunes.apple.com/us/album/born-to-die/id493341469

BONUS PICTURES!

Lana Del Sting Ray:

Lana Del Sting Ray

Lana Del Rey Lips wallpaper tile:

Background Tile

Leave a Reply

