Day 163 – #85. Com Truise – In Decay

Com Truise - In Decay Album Review

Just 24 days into this project, I wrote about one of my favorite releases from the last few years: Com Truise’s Galactic Melt. Even with the project still in its relative infancy, I don’t think I was too far off base in saying that each of Galactic’s tracks created a genuine and unique feeling of retro nostalgia.

Though In Decay was released a year later, it serves as something of the prequel to that record: nearly an hour of the early recordings of Brooklyn-based producer Seth Haley.

And since it’s just as difficult to formulate words about this type of glitchy, 80s-inspired synthwave as it is to write about Nine Inch Nails’ 36-track instrumental series Ghosts series, I would like to bring to your attention the existence of a group called: “Retro Electro.”

I’m not sure if I’ve mentioned this yet, but I think the best entry in the Grand Theft Auto series of games was Vice City, set in a fictionalized version of Miami in the 1980s. And though I was born in the 80s, I wasn’t able to experience them as a teen or someone in their early 20s, the prime years of wearing Speedos as acceptable outerwear.

I’m never going to be on of those people who says “I was born in the wrong era!” because I think that’s dumb. While I appreciate the music and dress that came out of the 20s, the desire to live in the Depression era, or during the horrific 30 year period of the 40s through the 60s is a foolish one. You’re born when you’re born, and that’s that. No need to pontificate otherwise.

That said, I am a total sucker for the music of the 80s. Everything about it to me is perfect: the right level of cheesy, a distinct sense of genuine earnest, and enough hairspray to obliterate that ozone.

Retro Electro is a tag I stumbled upon on Last.fm because of Com Truise. It is a collection of artists working actively to recreate the music of that era with modern(-ish) technology, and I couldn’t be more enamored with it; I mean, with band names like Garth Knight, Flash Arnold, and Lazer Hawk, how could a child of the 80s resist?

This is why the Internet exists today: connecting with like-minded people when you feel like you’re the only one in the world (or at least where you live) who has a deep appreciation and nostalgic pull for something specific down to the atomic level. Something you might not even be able to explain to someone else without launching into an essay-length, sweeping diatribe about the history and subsequent implosion of vaporwave.

Anyway, if you like synths and the 80s, you’ll like Com Truise. I can’t break it down any further past that.

From In Decay, this is “’84 Dreamin’” –

Standout tracks: “Colorpop” and “Alfa Beach”
Weakest track: If you don’t like electric drums, don’t even bother.

RIYL: The music and atmosphere of Grand Theft Auto: Vice City Miami in the 1980s.

Link: https://itunes.apple.com/us/album/in-decay/id536028404

2 comments

  1. Pingback: Day 215 – #336. Twin Shadow – Confess | One Record Per Day

  2. Pingback: Day 218 – #80. Chromatics – Night Drive | One Record Per Day


Leave a Reply

