Day 155 – #25. Band of Horses – Cease to Begin

Band of Horses - Cease to Begin Album Review

This is probably most unfair to Cease to Begin, the second album from Band of Horses, but today I “unleashed” (or, I don’t know, whatever) the first in my series of NCAA March Madness-style tournaments comprised of a single artist’s collection of songs. I’m calling it Subjective Rumbles, and the first band I’ve chosen to include is Cursive. I also wrote a “making of” feature about the whole thing, which you can read here.

Needless to say, I’d like that to be the focus for today, considering how much work and effort I put into it. Sorry, Ben Bridwell.

But!… in the spirit of never miss a shift, I will say that Cease to Begin is a delight. And to be totally honest, in the wake of Infinite Arms and whatever their latest release is, this album and Everything All The Time are the only two I even own anymore (this on top of the fact that I saw them live a few years ago and was bored to tears).

Detlef Schrempf” is perfect both for the fact that it’s a gem of a song, and that it’s named after the NBA with whom I believe I have the most in common: German, white, a little nerdy, and more John Stockton than Chris Paul. #basketball

If you’re into Fleet Foxes or Bon Iver, this would be your thing. Good sleepytime jams and such.

From Cease to Begin, this is “Islands on the Coast” –

Standout tracks: “Window Blues” and “The General Specific”
Weakest track: “Marry Song” – because I am a bitter old man.

RIYL: Folk, alt-folk, alt-country. Wilco, Fleet Foxes.

Link: https://itunes.apple.com/us/album/cease-to-begin/id263615298

One comment

  1. Pingback: Day 205 – #26. Band of Horses – Everything All The Time | One Record Per Day


Leave a Reply

