Day 129 – #194. Kanye West – The College Dropout

Kanye West - The College Dropout Album Review

I’ve documented my disdain for comedy skits on rap albums before. It just so happens that 6 of the 22 tracks on Kanye West’s 2004 record The College Dropout are those very skits.

I just don’t get it, man. Why the filler? Artistic integrity aside, what’s the point? Ego fulfillment?

Whatever it may be, I will always see these skits as the low point of mainstream rap albums like this one. Ye’s College Dropout is, in so many words, huge.

It’s the album known for “Through the Wire” and “Slow Jamz,”

It’s the album known for “All Falls Down” and “Jesus Walks.”

It’s as solid as a rap album can get.

And while I try to stay as far away from album reviews as I can (because they’re most often full of hot air and ridiculous conjecture), for records as successful like this one, I’m curious to see what others have to say.

I didn’t have to go very far to see hyperbole.

This is from the iTunes Editor review, aka, the paragraph you’d see if you purchased the album from Apple:

Kanye West iTunes Review

I mean, I know I’m not the best writer in the world, but sleight-of-hand? A cheetah’s ear comparison?

Good lord. That’s what passes for music journalism these days? If that’s the case: hey Pitchfork, hire me.

Of course College Dropout is a gem – but let’s not get it twisted. Skits have no place in full length albums anymore, and the rest of Ye’s work was spotty until My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy 6 years (!) later.

But what do I know? This album is multi-platinum and I’m just a dude on the Internet who doesn’t like comic interludes on rap albums.

From the hugely successful College Dropout, this is Kanye West’s “Two Words” (featuring my dude Mos Def!) –

Standout tracks: The singles, obviously. But also, “Get ‘em High” and “Spaceship.”
Weakest tracks: All of the skits (except School Spirit #1). STOP! In terms of the songs, themselves: “Breath In Breathe Out” but mostly because of Ludacris. Bleh.

RIYL: Mainstream rap or hip-hop. Jay-Z, Frank Ocean, etc.

Link: https://itunes.apple.com/us/album/the-college-dropout/id5926607

2 comments

  1. Pingback: Day 198 – #263. OutKast – Idlewild | One Record Per Day


Leave a Reply

