Day 76 – #131. Fleet Foxes – Fleet Foxes

Fleet Foxes - Fleet Foxes

Fleet Foxes is music for mountain men and ladies with armpit hair.

I shot myself in the foot with this band by discovering them via their best song: “English House” from the Sun Giant EP. It’s all downhill after that!

Of course, I’m being facetious… mostly.

I did hear “English House” first and it’s yet to be topped, but the super rich harmonies and gentle guitar work combine to make lush, reverberating landscapes. It’s gorgeous and airy and spacious.

But man, some of these lyrics leave me scratching my head. Is Robin Pecknold a serial killer? Are these characters, or maybe at the very least an extension of himself? 

This is the full text of “Your Protector” –

 

She left a week to roam

Your protector’s coming home

Keep your secrets with you girl

Safe from the outside world

 

You walk along the stream

Your head caught in a waking dream

Your protector’s coming home

Coming home

 

As you lay to die beside me, baby

On the morning that you came

Would you wait for me?

The other one would wait for me

 

As you lay to die beside me, baby

On the morning that you came

Would you wait for me?

The other one would wait for me

 

You run with the devil

You run with the devil

 

Tell your brother to be good

Tell your sister not to go

Tell your mother not to wait

Tell your father I was good

 

As you lay to die beside me, baby

On the morning that you came

Would you wait for me?

The other one would wait for me

 

What.

Don’t let this band near your children.

I mean, their music, fine. But don’t trust anyone with a beard who can harmonize with himself.

From their debut full length, this is Fleet Foxes with “Oliver James” –

Standout tracks: “Blue Ridge Mountains” and “Ragged Wood”
Weakest track: “Tiger Mountain Peasant Song” rambles a bit too much for my taste.

RIYL: Folk, music with copious amounts of harmonies. Bon Iver, Iron & Wine, The Tallest Man on Earth, and to same extent, Grizzly Bear.

Link: https://itunes.apple.com/us/album/fleet-foxes/id281086394

Fun fake side note: I almost adopted a fox and named him Fleet once. True fake story.

Leave a Reply

